2dcd18dd

Multiple "false" profiles, same frelancer?

Hi,

I am new to UpWork. It is my understanding that UpWork doesn't allow a freelancer to have multiple profiles. Is this rule still in place?  Can somebody create a "false" profile using the information from the profile of other successful frelancer? 

I hired a freelancer to make a revision to a previous translation and copywright job. After the freelancer missed the deadline and sent me a horrifying job (really, the revision was, worst than the one I sent her) I did some diggin before paying. I found 4 ferelancer with the same name, the same description, from 3 differeten countries. One of the four profiles have 100% job success, many hours worked and great feedback. The other 3 doesn't have any of this (one of these is the one I hired). 

Could it be a scam? How should I proceed? Am I suppose to report it? How?

Should I release the funds, even though the job is terrible? The document she sent me really is useless!

(Please excuse any errors in my English; it is not my native language.)

Thanks!

Mary Ann 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Mary Ann, please , please follow Valeria's request and report the individual.  Nonsense like this reflects terribly on Upwork and those of us who are honest professionals.

View solution in original post

21 REPLIES 21
kochubei_valeria
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Mary Ann,

I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience with a freelancer. Freelancers are still not allowed to have more than one  profile on Upwork and they also aren't supposed to copy other users' profiles and misrepresent their skills. We at Upwork have been working to introduce new systems to verify freelancers' identity and skills but we also often rely on other users to report violations they see.

You can report the freelancer you hired and provide more details here and I'll also follow up with the team about your report.

~ Valeria
Upwork