🐈
» Forums » Clients » My offer of $1000 not enough?
Page options
b1fe7a3c
Community Member

My offer of $1000 not enough?

Years ago I used rent a coder, and posted a small job. The next day I had over 25 people wanting to do the work. Now, I am new to up work, and I post a job for $1000. Three days later, and I have, the same 15 people who initially expressed an interest in my job. Am I doing something wrong, or am I just leaving something out? 

7 REPLIES 7
prestonhunter
Community Member

Are you posting these as fixed-price jobs?

Change your strategy. Post as hourly.

And be very specific about what you want the freelancer to do.

And keep the job post SHORT.

As a freelancer, I don't have any interest in reading a novel.

But I'll read a descriptive paragraph.

If that's something I have done many times in the past and I know how to do a great job for, I'll apply to your job.

Then, once I finish that task, you can ask me to do the next step. And then the next.

the3dguru
Community Member

It all depends on whether $1k covers the cost of the job. It's an odd thing to specify the cost of something before anything else. It's like saying your want to spend a specific amount on clothes, as if your socks and your suits should cost the same.

I want a Tesla, and I want it to cost $100, why is nobody selling it to me?

Community Member

There are many jobs posted. I think it is likely that your job has been buried, which is why you are not getting any new proposals.

rashid_mr
Community Member

It's possible that your job description is not clear enough or that you're not targeting the right group of freelancers. Here are a few tips to help you attract more quality freelancers:

1. Make sure your job description is clear, concise, and detailed. Explain exactly what you need and what you expect from the freelancer.

2. Use relevant and specific keywords in your job description and title to attract the right freelancers.