🐈
» Forums » Clients » Re: Need help and advice please!
Page options
Community Member

Need help and advice please!

Hi guys.
This is my first time hiring a freelancer in upwork.

Recently we hired a visual designer to do some logos for us. He was proffessional and met deadlines on time. Now we are on a fixed proposal. He has not reached the 1st milestone in which agreed milestone was that we choose an identity logo he produces for us. The thing is we have gone through 3 rounds and we notice on the first round he has used the same logos and or has taken components from other logo and put it together. He did admit that one of the logos he produced was actually used for a company already. After the 3rd round it seemed like we were giving more instructions to him rather then him finding the design. We were not happy with his work as there seemed to be no thought behind it. We messaged him in our intention of not further perusing his services.

He now wants to be paid in full for the first milestone. But for comming up with already used designs and very uninspiring ones we feel like it's not fair for us to give him the 1st milestone, which is half the total amount.

Need advice do we have the right not to pay since the first milestone agreed is us choosing one of his design?

Thank you
19 REPLIES 19
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "Need advice do we have the right not to pay since the first milestone agreed is us choosing one of his design?"

Do you have a right to NOT pay?

Not really. You should not have made a contract like that in the first place.

You CAN ask him if he will refund the amount in escrow to you. Or you can ask him to agree to a compromise, such as 50%.

But if you really want to do the best thing for YOU? If you want to put your project first and not worry about helping him?

Go to the contract now, release the full escrow amount to him. Then close the contract. Then send a message: