🐈
» Forums » Clients » New to Upwork : Possible Upwork Account Viola...
Page options
9b2b8068
Community Member

New to Upwork : Possible Upwork Account Violation

Hi,

Please advise how I should hire previous contacts via the platform without raising red flags.

I have recently started working on a stealth startup and need to hire freelancers on a regular basis. I am new to Upwork and made my first hire on the platform. 

I got an email today morning notifying me that my account is suspended for possibly trying to manipulate Upwork's feedback system - cannot post jobs or start contracts. I was asked to provide more information on the relationship I have with the freelancer I hired over Upwork.

I have worked with the freelancer before I hired him via Upwork. The freelancer visited me for an ongoing consultation when I renewed his contract. I'm not sure if that's a concern?

Based on my understanding of Upwork's policies, I thought it is encouraged to hire someone I can trust because I am not that experienced with the platform yet. If in any way I raised suspicion or went against any T&C without knowing please do let me know. I will be careful going forward.

I have heard colleagues who use Upwork on a regular basis. I appreciate the fact that Upwork is so vigilant about possible policy violations. It is my intention to strictly adhere to the policies to maintain the integrity of the platform. 

It is critical that I continue to hire freelancers for my startup. I have strict deadlines to meet before I can approach my investors again. I recently left my job so I have no other sources of income other than the startup. I do not have a husband or an immediate family member to support me during this time. It would be greatly appreciated if Upwork can unfreeze my account at the earliest so that I can get time-sensitive work done via the platform.

Best Regards,

Nayanika

2 REPLIES 2
AndreaG

Hi Nayanika,