cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not Getting Any Feedback From My Freelancer

Highlighted
Paul T Member Since: Mar 10, 2016
1 of 10

I have a project out and I have tried to get an update from my freelancer but I have received nothing after almost two weeks. The project in question isn't due until the end of March I was just asking how it was going. Next steps? If I do not hear from him before the end of the month is there a way to cancel the project if i needed to?

Thanks,

Paul

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 10

Paul,

If there are time-critical elements to this project, why are you using only one freelancer?

You should be using at least two.

Paul T Member Since: Mar 10, 2016
3 of 10

Well, since I am new to Upwork and using Freelancers in general, I did not know I should hire two. So, do I hire two and whoever gets it done first gets the money? I like working with one person. If they say they will do it, my expectation is they will get it done. If they do not, then terribele reviews ensue but they everyone gets the bebeift of the doubt to begin with? Naive? Maybe, but that's how I roll.

Thanks for the heads up for future deals.

Paul

Community Guru
Tonya P Member Since: Nov 26, 2015
4 of 10

I think it would depend on the project. If you hire two freelancers, they will both need to be paid. I am going to make a guess that you can contact Upwork Support and maybe they will check on your freelancer's status.

Community Guru
5 of 10

re: "If they say they will do it, my expectation is they will get it done."

I agree.

And I have found that about 80 to 90% of the time on Upwork, this is the case.

(On CraigsList, it's about 75% of the time, which still isn't too bad.)

So it comes down to how time-critical the project is, and also what caliber of contractors you are hiring, and what their schedule is.