🐈
» Forums » Clients » Partially finished project on a fixed, funded...
Page options
45a3a5a1
Community Member

Partially finished project on a fixed, funded project - how to close?

Hello everybody, 

I have posted a small fixed-price project, picked a freelancer for it and we've set a milestone and I funded it (UpWork gave no choice but to fund it while creating it). 

The work was about finishing old html. The freelancer said that after reviewing the original files he thought it was too complex and he wants to quit. I'm not a coder so I took his word, so its fine to me. He made a few changes to code (didn't send files yet) and we've so far agreed that I could pay a smaller amount for the done fixes. 

Now, since there is already money posted to escrow for the only milestone and it has not been released - how do I handle this? I couldn't find a way to edit the milestone to be smaller and when I tried to cancel contract I UpWork gave a message that the funded money would be paid - which is not what we agreed with the freelancer. 

What can I do? 
- Can I or the freelancer edit the milestones? 

- Can I edit the contract? The freelancer tried this but he got an error message that he cannot propose a new contract until a payment - but the current milestone is too big so I can't release it. 
- Can we cancel the contract so that I pay him a part of the original milestone? 
- What are my options? No files have been changed yet, the money is in escrow. 

Both me and the freelancer agree on the new terms and the payment on discussions but seems like neither of us can't apply the changes in UpWork.  

4 REPLIES 4
JoanneP

Hi Mikael,

You can adjust the amount of money that you release from a milestone. Please check out this help article for more information. Feel free to reach back if you need further assistance.Thank you!

~ Joanne
Upwork
45a3a5a1
Community Member

Thanks Joanne!

That raised a few more questions though..