cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Payment Method with Client

Highlighted
Lauren H Member Since: Apr 28, 2019
1 of 4

Hello, I am new to Upwork. Before sending portions of a project to a client, it is recommended that the client pays first, correct? Does Upwork send workers notifications that the client has paid? Thanks.

Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
BEST ANSWER
2 of 4

Lauren H wrote:

Hello, I am new to Upwork. Before sending portions of a project to a client, it is recommended that the client pays first, correct?

That isn't quite how it works...

Are you properly hired? (Is there a contract on your "My Jobs" page?)

Fixed price or hourly?

It is really quite difficult NOT to get paid here, provided you educate yourself before even applying to any jobs.

Where-Is-My-Money.jpg"Where is my money?"

Lauren H Member Since: Apr 28, 2019
3 of 4

Petra, Thank you for this diagram! The visualization is excellent. Currently I am at the message stage. Knowing how things could/could not go forward helps. Thank you.

Community Guru
Kathy T Member Since: Jul 17, 2015
4 of 4

After the interview stage, the client may (or may not) offer you a contract which you can either accept or decline.

If you accept, and before starting work make sure the clients account is verified.

Then, for fixed rate jobs make sure escrow is FULLY funded either for the entire job or for each milestone as they come up BEFORE starting work.

If all of the above are done, you can start work. When finished, submit the work using the submit work/Request button.