cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pending Offers

Highlighted
Brittney M Member Since: Jul 27, 2012
1 of 8
I've decided to hire a freelancer, after completing an interview, via Skype. We talked about the terms, start date, everything, came to an agreement. Well, I sent an offer, 3 days ago. She has yet to accept it. Immediately after sending the offer, I sent a message, stating that I've made an offer. Today, I sent another message, stating that I will not keep the offer in pending state much longer (if she hasn't accepted tomorrow, I will rescind it). I'm new to Odesk and wonder if it is common for people to not accept offers immediately and also, how long should I let an offer pend, before revoking the offer? Thanks.
Highlighted
Community Guru
Tony H Member Since: Nov 10, 2011
2 of 8
Has the start date passed? If so.. move on to someone else,it's a sign of what may come in the future for your deadlines. Otherwise, maybe he/she won't worry about accepting the offer till the actual start date?
Highlighted
Community Guru
Joseph C Member Since: Nov 5, 2011
3 of 8
ref Tony post on this. Could be they have quite a few apps out and waiting till the last minute hoping for a contract that pays more. Look at their profile and see how many apps they have outstanding.
Highlighted
Community Guru
Marcia M Member Since: Apr 3, 2013
4 of 8
When I receive an offer, it says "You have until [date] to accept or decline this offer," and the deadline is more than a few days away. Is this something the client sets or ODesk sets? Although I accept offers right away, if the offer says I have a certain amount of time before accepting, I would expect the job to be held for me until the deadline stated in the offer passed.
Highlighted
Community Guru
Krisztina U Member Since: Aug 7, 2009
5 of 8
It's set by oDesk not the client and I believe the default is 1 or 2 weeks, not sure. Either way, it's misleading.
Highlighted
Community Guru