I have two "rooms" for each of my freelancers - a personal room and an "interview" room. Some of these contracts have been running for years. Why do I still need an "interview" room if the freelancer has been hired and the job posting is closed? Sometimes my freelancers get the rooms mixed up and send me messages in the "interview" room instead of the personal room. Previously that wasn't really a big deal, but now the email notification format has changed: instead of just saying my name and the name of the freelancer in the subject (which is itself not that useful but I digress), it says "You have unread messages about the job...". This is confusing enough right now when I don't actually have any jobs open. When I next have a job open I'm going to find it even more confusing. Why can't the "interview" room be automatically closed once the freelancer is hired and the job posting is closed?
Back in December we made a change so all the new interview rooms will be merged with the respective contract rooms once the freelancer is hired. Unfortunately, it doesn't apply to the interview rooms that were created before the change went live. I believe you are seeing separate rooms for older interviews.
Please, see more information about the change here.