🐈
» Forums » Clients » Re: Problem charging your billing method
Page options
ahmadjamshed
Community Member

Problem charging your billing method

Hello, when I hire a freelancer it says
"There was a problem charging your billing method. Please enter a new billing method and try again."
My current billing method is verified by upwork. Upwork charged $10 in total yesterday as verificiation process. This is my first time hiring someone. My billing method is using Mastercard debitcard. I am also using the same method for withdrawing funds from upwork and that work just fine. Please get back to me asap as I have to hire someone urgent.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r
Community Member

Make sure your card is a proper credit card, or a debit card that functions like a credit card. it can not be a prepaid card like Payoneer etc. Those are not accepted at all.

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17
petra_r
Community Member

Make sure your card is a proper credit card, or a debit card that functions like a credit card. it can not be a prepaid card like Payoneer etc. Those are not accepted at all.

Its a proper debit card. I use it online without any issue and it is not prepaid. Upwork even charged $10 yesterday which I received and entered those 2 amounts into the verification page. It seems strange that Upwork can charge me for that but is unable to put money into escrow. 

Also I have money in bank so thats not the issue.

Have you looked at the account or talked to the bank? Small charges are also what happens when people steal CCs, so I think sometimes the verification process trips fraud triggers. Call the bank and make sure they aren't blocking the charges.