🐈
» Forums » Clients » Re: Question about partial payments
Page options
8209f077
Community Member

Question about partial payments

I have used Upwork as both a client and freelancer, and as a freelancer I was only paid partially for a project that I worked on. Does the system make this possible?

As a client I would like to of course pay my freelancer the full amount if he/she does a good job. However, it is possible to pay partially or in stages? 

8 REPLIES 8
AleksandarD
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Tai,

Thanks for reaching out to us. You can create a Fixed-Priced contract with multiple milestones. Milestones are a way to divide your fixed-price job into a series of deliverables based on your needs. They let you break a larger contract into more manageable chunks. Kindly, follow up on our Help Articles about Milestones for Fixed-Priced Jobs and how to Add and Edit Milestones. Let us know if you need further assistance.

Thank you.

~ Aleksandar
Upwork
petra_r
Community Member

Tai An Z wrote:

I have used Upwork as both a client and freelancer, and as a freelancer I was only paid partially for a project that I worked on. Does the system make this possible?

As a client I would like to of course pay my freelancer the full amount if he/she does a good job. However, it is possible to pay partially or in stages? 

In stages: Set up milestones.

Partial payment of a fixed rate milestone: Both client and freelancer can release/request amounts that differ from those funded, either up or down, by editing the amount field during submitting or releasing the milestone.

re: "As a client I would like to of course pay my freelancer the full amount if he/she does a good job."

Tai An:

Below are general guidelines (NOT about your situation) about how a client should pay a freelancer with a fixed-price contract:

- Freelancer completes only part of the work: