cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about partial payments

Tai An Z Member Since: Jun 29, 2019
1 of 4

I have used Upwork as both a client and freelancer, and as a freelancer I was only paid partially for a project that I worked on. Does the system make this possible?

As a client I would like to of course pay my freelancer the full amount if he/she does a good job. However, it is possible to pay partially or in stages? 

Aleksandar D Moderator Member Since: Mar 23, 2019
2 of 4

Hi Tai,

Thanks for reaching out to us. You can create a Fixed-Priced contract with multiple milestones. Milestones are a way to divide your fixed-price job into a series of deliverables based on your needs. They let you break a larger contract into more manageable chunks. Kindly, follow up on our Help Articles about Milestones for Fixed-Priced Jobs and how to Add and Edit Milestones. Let us know if you need further assistance.

Thank you.

~ Aleksandar
Untitled
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
3 of 4

Tai An Z wrote:

I have used Upwork as both a client and freelancer, and as a freelancer I was only paid partially for a project that I worked on. Does the system make this possible?

As a client I would like to of course pay my freelancer the full amount if he/she does a good job. However, it is possible to pay partially or in stages? 

In stages: Set up milestones.

Partial payment of a fixed rate milestone: Both client and freelancer can release/request amounts that differ from those funded, either up or down, by editing the amount field during submitting or releasing the milestone.

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
4 of 4

re: "As a client I would like to of course pay my freelancer the full amount if he/she does a good job."

Tai An:

Below are general guidelines (NOT about your situation) about how a client should pay a freelancer with a fixed-price contract:

- Freelancer completes only part of the work: