🐈 Community
feb62bf0

Ratings

I am going insane with an expectation from freelancers of a perfect rating of 5 stars. I have experienced this now five times, being requested for a perfect rating and even been threatened once by a freelancer who was going to withold work from me already paid for.

The freelancers tell me if they don't have 5 stars they don't get work however; clients recognise that the rating means nothing and this will only get worse with Upwork loosing credibility as the rating becomes meaningless.

Upwork management need to urgently address this please.

I do not want to have this conversation ever again with a freelancer, it is incredibly rude to be told you must score 5 stars when no-one is perfect. The star rating has to mean something.

I look forward to a response from Upwork on how they can address this serious credibility issue within the culture of freelancers.

7 REPLIES 7
tlsanders

As a freelancer, I totally agree with you. 5 stars for everything all the time is nonsense--it just masks the five stars given to someone who really goes above and beyond or does a stellar job and makes it impossible for anyone to really stand out.

That said, the truth is that there are enough clients playing the "five stars if nothing was wrong" game and enough freelancers who expect it that a freelancer with a 4.7 rating really suffers...not just subjectively when clients look at that rating, but also in the calculation of Job Success Scores, that freelancer's chances of showing up in searches, etc.

Hollie, the behavior you describe from these freelancers is inexcusable.

You are right to be ticked off.

@Preston H wrote:

Hollie, the behavior you describe from these freelancers is inexcusable.

You are right to be ticked off.

Yes. Definitely did not mean to suggest otherwise, just to point out that the rating system was more broken than just a set a badly behaved freelancers.