🐈
» Forums » Clients » Re: Recieved an invoice but project does not ...
Page options
81ef093f
Community Member

Recieved an invoice but project does not work correctly

Hello... I'm new to upwork and I'm unfamiliar with its operations.  So I would appreciate if anyone that can walk me thru the billing process.

I hired a guy to create a custom program for me.  We agreed he'd bill me on an hourly rate.  He estimated it would take approximately 18 hours to complete, and say's he's put 16 hours into the project... Unfortunately, the program doesn't work at all! It's not even close to working correctly

We've been communicating over the last week or so to correct the issues, but they've never been resolved.I was trying to contact him today to talk about it, but he's not replying to messages or calls.  Which I thought was odd because he's usually reposnve to messages. 

Then I noticed I had an alert I was billed $800+.  I hadn't investigated the subject of billing when I joined upwork... but I assumed I would have to approve payment before it went through.

There's a grey dot next to his name... but don't know what that means.  I can see he's on my contract and it says active.  Yet when I look under his work history... He has 5 jobs listed under completed, and 2 jobs listed under in progress.  The job I hired him for does not appear under either one. So I'm pretty confused about what's going on.

I'm willing to give it a day to see if I hear from him... But I'm really getting a scammed vibe right now.  Am I freaking out over nothing?  I've looked at the page on how to receive a refund... But I don't want jump the gun in case I'm reading something into his absence I shouldn't be

Could someone share their experince with me on this topic?  Thanks!

2 REPLIES 2
prestonhunter
Community Member

Keith:
If you do not love the work that a freelancer is doing for you, then fire the freelancer and assign his tasks to other members of your team.