🐈
» Forums » Clients » Seeing when a message is read
Page options
fernandovaz
Community Member

Seeing when a message is read

Hi! My name is Fernando, and I am a Product Manager working on the Collaboration Platform team here at Upwork. My team is responsible for everything that lives inside the Messages page, as well as all features that allow a freelancer and a client to work better together.,

One of the issues that come up most frequently when we review feedback between clients and freelancers is a lack of responsiveness. Things are going well, until one of the parties (the client or the freelancer) stops responding to messages and people get anxious to know whether it's just a delay or if people have seen the messages at all.

In order to address that, we're considering adding "message seen" indicators to our Messages page (and consequently to the Messages window on the desktop app). If you've used mobile messaging apps such as WhatsApp or Facebook Messenger you will be familiar with this - being able to tell when someone has seen your messages.

It would look something like this when you hover over a message (these are early mockups):

Screenshot 2016-12-08 15.43.41.pngScreenshot 2016-12-08 15.43.58.png

When we launch this feature, would you like to be able to turn it off? Bear in mind that this means you would also not see these indicators for when other people see your messages.

Any other feedback you might have about this would be most welcome.

Thanks!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
fernandovaz
Community Member

Thank you all for your feedback. Many of you voiced legitimate concerns, and so we have decided not to pursue this at this point. Once again, thank you for being so awesome, it's great to be able to have this sort of communication with our users.

Happy holidays to you all!

View solution in original post

50 REPLIES 50
cupidmedia
Community Member