cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Seeing when a message is read

Employee
Fernando V Employee Member Since: Aug 11, 2016
1 of 36

Hi! My name is Fernando, and I am a Product Manager working on the Collaboration Platform team here at Upwork. My team is responsible for everything that lives inside the Messages page, as well as all features that allow a freelancer and a client to work better together.,

One of the issues that come up most frequently when we review feedback between clients and freelancers is a lack of responsiveness. Things are going well, until one of the parties (the client or the freelancer) stops responding to messages and people get anxious to know whether it's just a delay or if people have seen the messages at all.

In order to address that, we're considering adding "message seen" indicators to our Messages page (and consequently to the Messages window on the desktop app). If you've used mobile messaging apps such as WhatsApp or Facebook Messenger you will be familiar with this - being able to tell when someone has seen your messages.

It would look something like this when you hover over a message (these are early mockups):

Screenshot 2016-12-08 15.43.41.pngScreenshot 2016-12-08 15.43.58.png

When we launch this feature, would you like to be able to turn it off? Bear in mind that this means you would also not see these indicators for when other people see your messages.

Any other feedback you might have about this would be most welcome.

Thanks!

Community Guru
Jennifer D Member Since: Feb 15, 2016
2 of 36

I responded to a thread about this recently and said I'm not a supporter (I'm a client). Just because I've read a message that doesn't mean I have time to respond to it right then, or I might need to research the answer to a question or something first.