🐈
» Forums » Clients » Re: Should I dispute manual hours?
Page options
bd2175a2
Community Member

Should I dispute manual hours?

I started a project with a freelancer to do some photoshop work in regards to placing my designs onto provided t shirt mock ups and making them appear realistic.  We were doing this by t shirt style and I was alarmed to see that the first style with about 8-10 colors and 4 designs took the freelancer 14 hours to complete.  I asked him about it, concerned that the 40 hour limit for the week which I figured to be more than sufficient would be quickly consumed. His response was that he did some additional work that was not shared as he was sending over only the complete styles, which makes sense.

Day 2 was even worse at 15 hours, with only minimal progress.  I should have stopped him at this point, as I am completely new to photoshop and could reasonably produce similar(not quite as good) quality in a fraction of this time.  My concern is the hours he logged did not nearly justify the quality difference in the work.  Day 3 I cut him off and ended the contract, he had exceeded the 40 hours at this point and provided a half completed style in this time frame.  I reached out to another freelancer that applied for the gig, which she completed about the same amount of work, same quality in a total of 5 hours time.  This to me was a much more reasonable amount of time for the project.

Question is, I don't want to dispute this with bad intentions, I just feel like the manual hours that were entered for this project were grossly inefficient.  Should I dispute this or take the losses?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
2a05aa63
Community Member

14 hours a day is too much. 29 hours in 2 days is even less realistic.

Allow manual time only with trusted freelancers or when the work is done off the laptop. And these numbers need to be talked about beforehand. I only use it when I forget to turn on the tracker.