🐈
» Forums » Clients » Re: The IP agreement and the NDA
Page options
ac2c6e1c
Community Member

The IP agreement and the NDA

Hello everyone,

Thanks for your future replies. I have some questions about the NDA (Non-Disclosure Agreement) and the IP agreeement (Intellectual Property right). I want to get these agreements done before I hire freelancer for my project.

Since I'm new to Upwork, I don't know to get them done on this platform or online. Can anyone give me some suggestions on this? Thanks alot!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

Here is a part of the default IP agreement that you may appreciate:

"Upon Freelancer’s receipt of full payment from Client, the Work Product... including without limitation all Intellectual Property Rights in the Work Product... will be the sole and exclusive property of Client, and Client will be deemed to be the author thereof."

I have never once had a freelancer give me any problems over this.

Every artist and writer I have hired has turned over the work and let me do anything I want with it, including given them credit or NOT giving them credit for the work. That is what they agree to when they accept a contract through Upwork.

But if this is an important issue for you, be sure to ask freelancers before you hire them to make sure they understand and agree to this. If you actually ask them, I'm sure most will be surprised that you are asking them, and will tell you of course they understand and agree to this.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
prestonhunter
Community Member

Minh:
You are ALLOWED to use your own IP agreement and NDA.

But the overwhelming majority of clients do NOT use their own. Most of them use the default IP agreement and NDA that is in place when freelancers and clients use the platform.

Freelancers agree to this IP agreement and NDA when they accept a contract.