🐈
» Forums » Clients » Trouble with a Freelancer that I hired
Page options
202399be
Community Member

Trouble with a Freelancer that I hired

hi, I am new to upWork and stuck in an odd situation, need your guidance.

On 20th April I hired a freelancer for a task with 3 milstones and deadline was 29th April. Reason for hiring was he had few completed projects on ReactJS (my requirement) which now i suspect to be fake because the first 3 days he wasted because he didnt even know how to connect database ...even a newbiz developer knows that.

Now today is 29th April (deadline of project) but so far he hasn't completed even first milestone properly i.e. it is full of improfessional mistakes.

Instead of making things better he is coming up with arguments such as he didnt know the dept of the task and i should increase the budget, even i fully explained him the task in zoom call with visuals.

I dont know how to handle this and i am running out of time. I do have 2 days buffer but i highly doubt he can deliver all work (error free) within that time.

Please guide me how to handle this situation.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

re: "wont it double the cost if i hire 2 freelancers for same task?"

No.

Hire four freelancers.

Use hourly contracts.

Only one of them does any work.

You only pay one of them.

It is a "team project." But they aren't working directly with each other.

Once the work is done, you close all the contracts.

Or if you really want to use fixed-price:

Hire four freelancers for a $2000 project.

First milestone is $25.

Pick the one who does the best.

Pay only that one to finish the work.

Three get $25.

One gets $2000.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
kochubei_valeria
Community Member

Hi Muhammad Farruk,