cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What can a Client do if the output is not up to Client's standard?

Denny E Member Since: Mar 27, 2017
1 of 7

Hi all,

I am new to UW and I am curious what a Client can do if output/ deliverable is not OK.
I would like to know what are the options for the Client when project has been funded but output is not satisfactory. In worst case, can the Client approach another freelancer to work on the project and release the payment to that new freelancer?

Thanks for your attention.

Have a nice day,
Denny

Community Guru
Vivek K Member Since: May 28, 2016
2 of 7

Denny

As far as I understand, on fixed price contract the dispute option lies with the freelancer.  You can ask for the refund.But the freelancer has to agree to it.

If it goes to mediation you will probably win only in case of non-delivery. Though am not sure of it. The last option if the dispute is not resolved in mediation is the arbitration.

In my opinion, If talking to freelancer does not resolve it, I would rather advise to close the contract, give feedback to the freelancer and move on.

Trying to recover money may be the waste of time.

But that is strictly my personal opinion. 

Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
3 of 7

@Denny E wrote:

1. I would like to know what are the options for the Client when project has been funded but output is not satisfactory.
  2. In worst case, can the Client approach another freelancer to work on the project and release the payment to that new freelancer?

1. Once the freelancer has submitted the work and requested payment, you have 14 days to review the work and, if needed, request changes. The key is communication with the freelancer to make it easier for them to give you exactly what you want, and to achieve that "what you want" must be perfectly defined before the contract even starts.