🐈
» Forums » Clients » What happen to upwork and quality freelancers...
Page options
1881c39b
Community Member

What happen to upwork and quality freelancers? :/

Hey

I used to be able to post a job description and within 4h I would get a few solid freelancers offers & start the work. 

Now 99% I get is spam**Edited for Community Guidelines**

Upwork some quality control maybe? Some anti-bot measures or something? This is ridiculous. 

25 REPLIES 25
d3c5dd09
Community Member

From another perspective ... I'm a freelancer, and the amount of spam/scammy job proposals showing up is extraordinary. Too much of the day is being spent sorting through the crap and not enough time actually working and talking with real prospects.

Yes, and many of those are the same ones that appear over and over even after having been flagged, reported, and removed.

I would hope that Upwork would "silently" hide these scammers profiles/ip/mac id tag them from the general public 😕 I've gotten way too many applications of people pretending to be in Europe but upon call I'm talking to some1 from definitely not Europe 😕

I'm not sure how you'd be able to tell that someone is definitely not in Europe - there are lots of immigrants and refugees. But if you suspect that someone is lying about their location, you can flag their profiles and Upwork will look into it. They don't "silently hide" anyone - they'll ban them if caught.

You can tell if they have Native profile pictures and sound very.... different... or cant speak the Native language... 

Upwork should shadow ban them, if they know they are banned they will just recycle/make new accounts. It would explain why 90% of the calls I had in the past few days were all fake ;/