🐈 Community
1c9938c6

When hiring, what is the most important?

Hi All,

I am new to the hiring process and would like to leverage the experience of the forum, after I submitted the job posting what parameters I need to pay attention the most to ensure I am hiring good freelancer?

Also is this common to ask a freelancers several questions or small technical quiz to ensure he is the best fit?

Thank You

Iris

10 REPLIES 10
prestonhunter

I don't think it is common to ask a freelancer general technical questions. Ask her about what she will do on your project.

And, no, you really can't give freelancers technical quizzes. Unless you hire them and pay them to take the quiz. I don't know how helpful that would be anyway. Who cares how well they do on a quiz you give them?

Best thing is to hire from among the most expensive contractors available in the skill area you need, or hire multiple less expensive people on a short term basis and continue working with the best, or none of them if their work does not satisfy you.

Plan to hire a number of mediocre and bad freelancers until you find some good ones. Be willing to close contracts on freelancers after only a hour or two.

Preston, based on your approach it is trial and error process, if I will follow what you are suggesting I will waste time and money.

Assume I have 6 candidates and all of them claim that they are great and have 5 stars, how I can pick and choose the best?

Best on past the feedback? Or I need to find if one of them he did exact work like I am asking?

or best the solution they suggest to my problem ?

droleary

@iris C wrote:

after I submitted the job posting what parameters I need to pay attention the most to ensure I am hiring good freelancer?