cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why Does Upwork Allow Clients to be Spammed?

Community Guru
Jean S Member Since: Oct 22, 2007
1 of 12

I posted a job with specific criteria and skills needed.

I was flooded with applications from people who did not have the necessary skills I chose and requested.

I take the time to craft a proper job and lay out all my expectations and this happens.

Why are these people allowed to spam me?

Community Guru
John K Member Since: Feb 17, 2015
2 of 12

Jean, someone somewhere requested a feature that would allow clients to flag an application as spam, and the freelancer gets penalized eventually if they get flagged repeatedly. While I like the idea, I worry about nasty clients doing this maliciously. Also, bear in mind Upwork has an auto hide algorithm that's supposed to detect copy & paste applications, in which case you're seeing false negatives, but as a freelancer I have to say I prefer that to false positives, meaning an application that's mistakenly categorized as spam.

3 of 12

@John K wrote:

Jean, someone somewhere requested a feature that would allow clients to flag an application as spam, and the freelancer gets penalized eventually if they get flagged repeatedly. While I like the idea, I worry about nasty clients doing this maliciously. Also, bear in mind Upwork has an auto hide algorithm that's supposed to detect copy & paste applications, in which case you're seeing false negatives, but as a freelancer I have to say I prefer that to false positives, meaning an application that's mistakenly categorized as spam.

Clients can mark applications as spam.

http://screencast.com/t/jHwIeMoPDIM

http://screencast.com/t/eZJbDyf45Op

I have to wonder if that actually works. How many times do you have to mark someone as spam for them to get a warning?

Ace Contributor
Johan G Member Since: Jul 15, 2015
4 of 12

Yes, it was me that posted that idea earlier today here: