🐈
» Forums » Clients » Why would a free lancer want to delay a refun...
Page options
499858d1
Community Member

Why would a free lancer want to delay a refund.

I'm new to upwork. I have been working with a freelancer for a couple of months now. At the start it was ok but as the contract wore on working with this person became increasingly slow. It got to the pont where tasks where taking over double the time and what was delivered did not work in the way it was intended. Every other build was broken and in the end it was costing far too much time. We got to a point where I could not continue so I asked for my money back on the features that had not been delivered. The payment has already been made and now the freelancer is saying that he can't pay me untill the 20th. He cliams he does not have the money in his account. Does my ability for recourse on upwork expire? Is there any reason that he would want to delay paying me back the agreed upon amount  for 9 days? Please advise.

4 REPLIES 4
kat303
Community Member

Stewart -  since the payment was already sent, then I doubt that this freelancer will refund what he already has. Normally, you could get back whatever is in escrow (if this is a fixed rate job) or you could only dispute hours worked if they are manual or not related to your job, if this was an hourly job and the hours are current.

The reason this freelancer is delaying, is probably because they are trying to stall you. IMO this freelancer has no intention of refunding you anything. At the end of 9 days, you'll probably get another excuse from him, IF, he still responds to your messages.  

dataextract
Community Member

Stewart, as far as I know, there is no point in delaying the refund.

Even if the freelancer don't have amount in their Upwork account, they can initiate a refund and Upwork will process it.

Please go through this link : https://support.upwork.com/hc/en-us/articles/211068538-Give-a-Refund

Once you submit a refund: