🐈
» Forums » Clients » Why would a freelancer have a 85% rating? Do ...
Page options
vialisa
Community Member

Why would a freelancer have a 85% rating? Do they not complete the tasks?

I'm new to hiring and I'm a bit confused about the success ratings.  Why would I hire someone that doesn't have 100% success ratings?  I'm not clear on that rating system.  I'd hope that there is a reason why someone doesn't complete a gig that is paid for or a refund given.

Can someone explain to me how the success ratings works?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
colettelewis
Community Member

Lisa H wrote:

I'm new to hiring and I'm a bit confused about the success ratings.  Why would I hire someone that doesn't have 100% success ratings?  I'm not clear on that rating system.  I'd hope that there is a reason why someone doesn't complete a gig that is paid for or a refund given.

Lisa,

Unfortunately no one can explain how exactly the rating system works. There are many reasons why a freelancer's ratings go down.

Sometimes a client will give a freelancer a public rating of 5/5 but in private will give the equivalent of a 1/5. This could have a major impact  on a freelancer's public JSS (Job satisfaction score). Clients do not always realize how harmful their private ratings can be. Better to give an honest and equivalent public and private rating. Sometimes bad private ratings are deserved, sometimes not, but the playing field is not always level. One job can go bad between a freelancer and client and can reflect on an otherwise excellent background.

Freelancers don't know where they have gone wrong and neither do their potentential clients.  So the best thing to do when you are hiring, is to use your own judgement. Check a freelancer's general experience,  portfolio and other credentials that are not based on Upwork's Algrorithm. If necessary ask them to do a small paid test.  

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14
colettelewis
Community Member

Lisa H wrote:

Lisa,