cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Worker disappeared

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
11 of 24

re: "would probably want their full-time workers to resign professionally with at-least a curtious letter and after submitting all the work related files"

Work files are important. A contractor not providing you with the work product you paid her to do already is a problem, but is a somewhat different matter from whether a freelancer can simply walk away from a contract at any time.

I am a contractor. I do a lot of work that is important to my clients. I am not going to walk away from a contract without notice, but what if I died suddenly? Would my clients be deprived of any of my work?

No. They would not.

Because all the work I do is available to my clients in real time, as soon as I produce it.

None of my work is saved only on any local computer. All of it is is on an online server that my clients have full access to. Each client has their own private server account. So they have full access to everything I do for them, all the time.

Why? Because I am a professional.

If the work your contractors do for you is valuable and/or important, such that you don't want to risk losing it, then you should insist that they use similar practices, or you should set up your infrastructure likewise.

Ace Contributor
Shahzad Y Member Since: Mar 29, 2015
12 of 24

I don't think we are talking about "unintentional reasoning" here so "death" or "winning the lottery" do not add anything substancial to this discussion. I don't think I will be posting it here if I found that the worker I had hired had passed away (god forbid). Rather, I would be sending my condolences to his/her family members.

This discussion is about "What can be done if a freelancer disappears with your sensitive data, right before a crucial deadline"?