🐈
» Forums » Clients » Writing contract correctly
Page options
993e32ad
Community Member

Writing contract correctly

This is my first time to use Upwork. The prospective freelancer wants me to pay a $200 deposit and then she will bill me each week for the time she's worked. I don't see how to make that work with the options in the offer. If you've done this with a freelancer, please let me know how to make the Upwork system match what she's asking. Thank you.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

$200 upfront deposit?

No.

Almost never for any Upwork client.

Definitely not for a new Upwork client.

When you have more experience you can talk to us about when it might be okay to pay an upfront payment.

It is certainly not okay now.

That is NOT how Upwork intends for the fixed-price contract model to be used.

You need to create an hourly contract. Limit the number of hours that the freelancer may work to three hours per week. After the freelancer has done some work, review it carefully. If you love the freelancer's work, increase the number of hours and continue working with the freelancer. If you don't love the freelancer's work, then close the contract and work with others.

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
prestonhunter
Community Member

$200 upfront deposit?

No.

Almost never for any Upwork client.

Definitely not for a new Upwork client.

When you have more experience you can talk to us about when it might be okay to pay an upfront payment.

It is certainly not okay now.

That is NOT how Upwork intends for the fixed-price contract model to be used.

You need to create an hourly contract. Limit the number of hours that the freelancer may work to three hours per week. After the freelancer has done some work, review it carefully. If you love the freelancer's work, increase the number of hours and continue working with the freelancer. If you don't love the freelancer's work, then close the contract and work with others.