Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

is ** running scam?

Highlighted
G P Member Since: Oct 16, 2017
1 of 10

Hi,

This is my first time on Upwork. I hired **Edited for Community Guidelines** and shared complete details of my project with him. He kept asking for additional time and i agreed. Finally he said give me another week to deliver the whole project. One week ends today but when i asked for the work, he replied the following and then blocked me- "Sorry, but due to my personal problems and reasons, currently I’m unable to work on this project and meet any deadlines. I’m sorry that you’ve wasted so many time, but I have to end this contract.  Good luck with your app with some other better designer!". This guy was suggested to me by upwork and is rated one of the top most.

Is this some kind of scam? Is my money safe? is my project safe?

Do you guys have a contact number? I couldnt find it anywhere on your website

Highlighted
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
2 of 10
Was it a fixed rate or an hourly contract?
Highlighted
3 of 10

fixed rate

@Petra R wrote:
Was it a fixed rate or an hourly contract?

Highlighted
Community Guru
Bojana D Member Since: May 2, 2011
4 of 10

The name is going to be deleted as we can't share personal details on forums. However, if it's the same guy that pops up in the search results, it doesn't seem like a scam-profile - solid reputation and work going 2 years back. Could really be having personal issues - which doesn't mean that the way he handled the contract was professional. On the money issue - as Petra mentioned, depends what kind of contract it was.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
5 of 10
Ok, so had you already released any money to the freelancer or are the funds still in Escrow? If you have not released anything your funds are safe. You can end the contract and request your Escrow funds back.
Highlighted
6 of 10