🐈
» Forums » Coffee Break » Re: Are Fiverr buyers moving to Upwork
Page options
mattnewnham
Community Member

Are Edited buyers moving to Upwork

I don't know if many have noticed but there are growing numbers of "Buyers" on Upwork that tick the $$$ box and then expect to pay $5 or less per hour. It seems the **Edited for Community Guidelines**buyers are moving to Upwork.

As freelancers, we are all worth much more than $5 per hour. I am finding more clients on Upwork wanting to pay less and yet expect more. Is this the way the freelancing world is going? 

Surely if someone ticks the $$$  or even the $$ expectation there needs to be a minimum per hour rate they can expect to pay? 

I am a writer and have clients that pay upwards of $40 per 500 words (some even $200), the craft of writing, as with the many other areas of expertise on upwork, is a skill that commands and even demands respect and it does have a value exceeeding $5 per hour/article. 

I don't know how many other freelancers are skipping over amazing jobs because the rate offered is, to say the least, not worth it., but I know I am.

We clearly live in a world where cheap is still what many people look for. 

I apply strict filters when looking for work on Upwork and have enquiries come in often that are well below my hourly rate and even below the minimum wage of many countries. It is almost an insult being approached with rates that are being offered.

Not sure how to deal with those who want champagne but can barely afford a glass of beer or even milk.

Just saying

Have an awesome 2019 everyone

10 REPLIES 10
opsogreen1
Community Member

Hi  Matthew, Yeah I also noticed it. Many new clients on Upwork and they are paying $5(not even hourly, it per project:).

Even lots of spam post they are posting nowadays. Also, I noticed their hiring rate 2%-5% 😞 

Yes, Imran