🐈
» Forums » Coffee Break » Do people really do *this*?
Page options
lindaland
Community Member

Do people really do *this*?

On a teamwork platform (not Upwork) there are suggestions and quotes while the page loads. 

Today it said, "To make a word or phrase bold put an asterisk before and after it. *Be Bold*"

My reaction was, yikes. As an editor, I am constantly editing out "quotation marks" around words for "emphasis". 

In all of my years of training and experience, words and phrases themselves stand out based on the way they are written. Of course in rare cases to make a word bold, you could actually make it bold. 

So is this just an online content thing? Or am I just old? In my mind I see future books coming to me to be edited now with asterisks all over the place. 

10 REPLIES 10
prestonhunter
Community Member

Linda:

I am a computer programmer who does most of my work using a text editor.

It is not a word processor.

So there is no text formatting... no "bold" or "italics", etc.

Asterisks, quotes, and capitalization will not disappear when a block of text is moved from one format to another, such as if it is stored as a value in a simple varchar database column.

So I have a great appreciation for the use of pure ASCII text for communications.

I'm not sure what you are trying to say in your post. What do you suggest for freelancers who need to emphasize a word? Type it in all caps? This can be misinterpreted by people as negative. I think that at the very least, a freelancer should be able to italicize a word without having to go to the trouble of adding asterisks before and after. Very clumsy. I find it interesting that formatting is available in this forum but not in a message.

Spoiler

@Ronni V wrote:

I find it interesting that formatting is available in this forum but not in a message. 

Formatting is allowed in Upwork's messages service. The way to trigger it is through markdown.

*italics* will show: italics

**bold** will show: bold