🐈
» Forums » Coffee Break » Don't know about you, but I'm about to leave ...
Page options
rbilleaud
Community Member

Don't know about you, but I'm about to leave Upwork

I've been using Upwork for a about 4 years now, and I'd say I'm only an occassional freelancer. I pick only jobs that interest me, and I have a day job, so this is basically just a side hustle for me. But Upwork is really starting to get on my nerves. First they start charging for Connects, now they want me to verify my identity using some convoluted process that requires me to disclose personal information. One of the nice things about Upwork used to be freedom, but now they're starting to impose all these rules. I've about had it.

30 REPLIES 30
florydev
Community Member

I am curious Robert, why did you post this?  Do you want group validation that other people are leaving, because I can guess that they are (but they may not post it here)?  Or were you looking for someone to tell you not to go?

I am personally fine with the changes but I can see why others are not.  I am also ambivalent about you leaving.  If you worked in a category that I do, I still wouldn't care.  Your personal choices are your choices, I just not sure why you want to inform me of them.

Mark, I'm not sure what OP's purpose was, but I find it useful when people make posts like this, because it gives us some indication of whether what many of us believe was Upwork's strategy in making these changes is working. This is a hash mark in the "yes" column--a freelancer who has earned a couple of thousand dollars across four years and just isn't a profitable customer for the company.

Yeah, I am with you.

This is not my first time seeing this behavior (or my first forum to see it) and I just don't get it.  If you want to leave, leave.  If you want to quit, quit.  My natural reaction is:

21b.jpg