cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

For Fulltime Freelancers

Community Guru
Robert James R Member Since: Apr 17, 2015
1 of 24

Hi. If you're a full-time freelancer, what urged you to go down this road?

Did you have a previous job that sucked? Or are you in the process of getting a dayjob and temporarily trying to make ends meet by freelancing? How long have you been freelancing and how long do you plan to do full-time freelancing?

To start things off, I was a food scientist for 5 years before my last stint at this company (which I recently transferred to) changed my job description to something I did not like. I quit after just 6 months since if I didn't, I would be relocated immediately. That would be Feb 6 of this year and I'm 25 so it went without saying I practically didn't have much to live with (although I made a lot of investments but none of them has matured yet) and I found myself half-regretting I didn't take the offer.

I was already a fixed-price freelancer here in oDesk (UpWork) for two years so I figured I might as well go full-time while I'm applying for other dayjobs. Days after I quit, I was fortunate enough to work with 3 long term clients to which I still work for to this date. As such I found the exchange rate quite favorable to me (43-ish per dollar) hence I decided to stay longer as a full-time freelancer and forget the dayjob search for a while.

As to how long I plan on doing this, I cannot say but if fate is kind enough, perhaps a year at least. By then I would've had enough to start a small business that would generate passive income in which I would definitely stop freelancing and try the "real world" again.

Thank you!

Community Guru
Cristian-Adrian F Member Since: May 6, 2015
2 of 24