🐈
» Forums » Coffee Break » Freelance gadgets you can't live without
Page options
2a05aa63
Community Member

Freelance gadgets you can't live without

I recently got a standing desk that changes it's height, and it's making wonders for my back pain, and it got me thinking, what things do freelancers use daily to make their life easier?

I'm the introverted type that mostly sits at home and obsessed with tech, so I got a bunch of it.

First off, a coffee machine that grinds coffee. I got a geyser coffee maker before and it does it's work but there was always coffee all over the kitchen. Now, with a click of a button I can get a cup in just few seconds, and I love it.

I got a gaming chair a while ago but more and more I read about them not being the best choice. A good office chair would be a lot more comfortable.

Noise cancelling headphones are amazing to counter noice. I've been using them for 5 years and cannot go back to regular ones.

I'm a VR enthusiast, and got the Quest Pro mainly for games and media consumption but it's a great tool when you need multiple displays. 

is a good way to setup reminders to move around and be sure not to skip calendar events.

If you are mainly using a laptop, then you have look down a lot, which creates a lot of tension on the neck. Investing in a stand that will raise it to the eye level will do a lot of good for the shoulders and... You will also need another keyboard so you don't hold you arm in the air. If you get a quality one, your fingers and arm will thank you. Get a arm rest as well, it's worth the investment.

The standing desk I got can store 4 different positions. It's so nice to be able to stand up and continue working when sat for too long. It also can be used with a threadmil, so you can walk and use the computer at the same time.

Talking about threadmills, I have a compact on that can easily be moved around. It doesn't go over 6km\h but it's enough if you just want to talk or light jog.