cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Freelancing = Loneliness?

Community Leader
Octavian Valentin A Member Since: Mar 26, 2015
1 of 61
This is the BIG question everyone asks me when I tell them about the way I work.

Share your opinion here and I will spread the word. Thanks .

Community Guru
Irene B Member Since: Feb 17, 2015
2 of 61

There is a difference between being alone and being lonely.

As a freelancer, I am alone, but I am not lonely, i.e. feel the need for constant companionship. I guess it depends on your personality.

Community Leader
Gabriel B Member Since: Nov 25, 2014
3 of 61

Salut, Octavian!

Freelancing is far from a lonesome occupation. I've been working from home for almost 10 years now and I never get enough time for myself. There are always e-mail, instant messages, new tasks to think about that I long for a day where I just take a walk in a park or drive by myself.

It's true you don't have colleagues bugging you while you work, but I find that very annoying. When I work I like only to have some music playing in the background. Even if somebody revs a car in front of the house it gets annoying. I really don't know how those companies with hundreds of people in one room get anything done. Like that it's difficult to stay focused and it would time at least 2 times more time to do anything.

If you are a newbie then it's good to have more experienced people around if you have questions, but with Google it's really difficult for me to understand why bother someone else with simple questions.

Community Guru
Santiago G Member Since: Mar 10, 2015
4 of 61

Irene has part of it. It depends on your personality.

The other part is that not every freelancer feels lonely because of the things they do and who they're with.