🐈
» Forums » Coffee Break » Re: How Being an Upwork Client is Helping Me ...
Page options
jodypm
Community Member

How Being an Upwork Client is Helping Me to Become a Better Upwork Freelancer:

Or, What's Good for the Goose is Good for the Gander

Recently, I've started using Upwork more and more as a client. I've been a freelancer on Upwork for a few years now, but I've always used pre-existing contacts and associates to sub out work on large contracts when permitted or build a team when necessary. However, over the last few months, I've started to really dig in deep with the client-side of things on Upwork.

And just in a few months of doing this, I'm already feeling that I'm becoming a better freelancer.

Patience & Understanding
Being a client has taught me that the liberty that I naturally assume as a freelancer is sometimes not so readily understood by the client. As a freelancer, I'm quick to point out that I need time to do it right, as a website or application is a very serious asset for a business; but as a client, when freelancers have told me this, I usually feel a little sting.

Of course, I reply with the same words that clients' typically use to answer this when I'm the freelancer: "Sure, no problem, take your time as I want it to be done right." But even though I say it, as a client, I still feel a little uneasy and often find myself wondering, during the course of the job, what the freelancer might be doing and are they going to meet my deadline.