cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do you make new friends?

Ace Contributor
Aziz U Member Since: Oct 30, 2018
1 of 6

So yea...how do you make new friends? I mean generally as adults and also as freelancers... I assume quite a few of us do this full time, work from home, and so we have pretty much no physcial social network; and now with this covid thingy looming over our heards, it's pretty much impossible. 

Personally, for me:

• Travelling (but friendships you make are pretty short lived as you drift apart after a while)
  • Going to meetups for hobbies that I have (but with covid next to impossible)
  • Learning new languages (made some really good friends this way)

Curious what you guys do to meet new people.

Muhammad F Member Since: Dec 4, 2020
2 of 6

For now, I don't bother trying to make new friends because I am a student and a freelancer so I get friends from classes or hostel. we always hang out together or study together so don't have to try to make new friends, I just get them without even trying Smiley Very Happy

Community Guru
Jamie F Member Since: Mar 7, 2010
3 of 6

I'm quite an introvert and quite happy to be on my own.

When I do start going a bit stir-crazy and feel the need for more human company, I have a small group of friends I can arrange for a few pints with. I like it that way and am in no hurry to make new friends (they are often more hassle than they're worth). When I do meet a new person, they're usually the friend of another of my friends. 

Community Guru
Nichola L Member Since: Mar 13, 2015
4 of 6

Get a dog - a smoochy sort of pooch - works every time. 

Community Guru
Mary W Member Since: Nov 10, 2014
5 of 6

I have started having long telephone conversations with childhood friends that I haven't seen for years.  We share so much and at our age we love talking about the distant past as well as the current times.  I always hang up with a huge smile on my face.

Abah O Member Since: Jan 15, 2021