🐈
» Forums » Coffee Break » Re: I'm a creative writer, according to Upwor...
Page options
richard_wein
Community Member

I'm a creative writer, according to Upwork

I've been having fun taking some Upwork tests. Now I'm wondering whether I should change careers, as I seem to do better in the writing tests than the computing ones. My latest result was Top 10% (actually the top 1%) in Creative Writing (Fiction). In reality, I could hardly be less of a creative writer. I struggle to even write a letter. But, if Upwork says I'm a creative writer, who am I to disagree?

Anyway, if you haven't yet taken one of Upwork's creative writing tests, have ago. They were written by someone with a sense of humour, and they're good for a laugh.

Of course the whole idea of a multiple choice test for creative writing is ridiculous. I only took the test because I was curious to see what sort of questions they asked.

13 REPLIES 13
luce-neidert
Community Member

I don't want to hurt your feelings, but if you're in the Top 10%, it may only mean that most of the people that have taken that test were even worse writers than you....

I haven't taken the test yet, but will now that I"ve read your post.  But just so you know, I was not aware I was a good researcher, creative writer etc, until I built my own website and had to start creating content for it.  That bloomed into doing it for other website, and voila, I'm all of a sudden a creative/web content writer.  GL to you!

yeasir_arafat_13
Community Member

I am not a creative writer too, but it seems interesting as you said. 

Got really interested in taking the test. 

lysis10
Community Member

I admit I purposely avoid the English tests just because I don't want those "NATIVE SPEAKERS ONLY" loser invites.

yeasir_arafat_13
Community Member

Well. I got 4/5 (above average). 

So, it's fine! I don't need to change career! Haha