🐈
» Forums » Coffee Break » Re: It's a small world
Page options
astepanov83
Community Member

It's a small world

I'm a programmer. A year and a half ago I had a contract where I developed a secure mailer and I used a small library from github that did all the crypto stuff. The library is rather unknown even for those who's knowledgable in cryptography.

A couple of days ago I got an invitation to a job. It was posted by one the authors of this library! They looked for someone who could continue evolving it and add some major features. I was pretty surprised by the overall situation and we had a great talk.

It's a small world. And if it concenrs a specialized area, it's even smaller.

7 REPLIES 7
lysis10
Community Member

yeah, it is a small world. I have a client in NYC who found me on Upwork when he needed someone quickly. I'm not sure he planned to keep me for so long, but he even stood me up on our first scheduled phone call. Sometimes when people do this I bail but for some reason I decided to give in when he pinged me again. We get to talking and he grew up a block from my house where I grew up and went to the same high school. We probably ran into each other at some point in our lives since he's only 2 year older than I am.

I even told him I was gonna be creepy and start googling him to see if I recognize him. lol

florydev
Community Member

Jennifer M wrote:

yeah, it is a small world. I have a client in NYC who found me on Upwork when he needed someone quickly. I'm not sure he planned to keep me for so long, but he even stood me up on our first scheduled phone call. Sometimes when people do this I bail but for some reason I decided to give in when he pinged me again. We get to talking and he grew up a block from my house where I grew up and went to the same high school. We probably ran into each other at some point in our lives since he's only 2 year older than I am.