Reply
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply

Perhaps a stupid question...

Community Guru
Irene B Member Since: Feb 17, 2015
1 of 19

This may be a stupid question to some, but here goes:

 

I've uploaded numerous files in the past week. Twice now I've seen a message from Upwork linked to the uploaded docs stating 'file has been sanitized'.

 

When clicking on the 'learn more' link, however, it tells me nothing about what the statement means.

 

Any learned people here who could let an old lady writer know the meaning of 'file has been sanitized' in plain old English? I'd appreciate it.

 

Community Guru
Noureldin Y Member Since: Sep 7, 2019
2 of 19

It means that they have played in the file and it's not uploaded by the same full content you sent.

send it through google drive or to your client email better to guarantee it's going to them fully without being embarrassed as they also see the same line on their side, and maybe thinking that you were trying to hack them, lol. Put the text on google drive doc, and let the client generate the download from google server itself.

 

https://drive.google.com/drive/my-drive > new > google docs > paste the content > on the top right press on share > put your client email or press advanced > anyone who have the link can view > the link is listed above copy it > press done> send the client the link > when he open it tell him to press on file which is on top left then choose download and choose the format he needs and google will generate the download to him instantly.


Marvelous.
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
3 of 19

Noureldin Y wrote:

send it through google drive or to your client email better to guarantee it's going to them fully without being embarrassed as they also see the same line on their side, and maybe thinking that you were trying to hack them, lol. Put the text on google drive doc, and let the client generate the download from google server itself.


No need for any of that.

The client (or the freelancer) can simply choose to download the original file by clicking on the download-the-original-file link on the right of the file name, or clicking on the three dot on the right of the filename to see the option to download the original. (depending on your screen-size you will see one or the other)

 

download original file.jpg

 

Having compared a random dozen of "sanitized" files with their original, there was no visible or functionality difference at all between the two versions

Community Guru
Noureldin Y Member Since: Sep 7, 2019
4 of 19

They can download the original but why would you embarrass yourself by making the other thing appear?


Marvelous.
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
5 of 19

Noureldin Y wrote:

They can download the original but why would you embarrass yourself by making the other thing appear?


I would in no way "embarrass myself" - just about every file sent and received shows like this.

Mostly there is no difference between the two versions.

 

Clients, once told, understand. Pasting their text into a google thingie is dilettante and amateur-ish and I'd not send my clients on a chase across the Internet to get their stuff.

 

I just tell them that the file may have been sanitized and how to get the original. Simple. Easy. Clean. Professional.

 

by far the WORST way to get the doc to the client is to paste it into google sheets. There will be a hell of a lot more changes done by pasting from Word to Google sheet and then downloading back as a Word doc than the sanitizing process could possibly make. That is such a **Edited for Community Guidelines** way to go about it - it beggars belief.

If you want to send the original doc in its original state, send it by email or upload it as is into dropbox or whatever. No copy-pasting across formats.

 

 

Community Guru
Noureldin Y Member Since: Sep 7, 2019
6 of 19

I respect your opinion everyone is doing it his way and sharing it, so she can know the options and decide what she wants to do.


Marvelous.
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
7 of 19

Noureldin Y wrote:

everyone is doing it his way and sharing it, so she can know the options and decide what she wants to do.


Well, there is little danger of Irene (who is far too experienced) doing anything as bleep-brained, but for the sake of others who might be tempted to start copy-pasting client materials across formats over the Internet when there is neither any need nor any sense in doing so, it had to be pointed out just how bleep-brained it is.

 

Your copy paste bleep-idea does not just alter the content (FAR more than the Upwork sanitizing does,) it also creates extra steps for the client and means there is no file on Upwork in case there is any kind of dispute.


So in every possible way: Unnecessary, needless, bleep

Community Guru
Noureldin Y Member Since: Sep 7, 2019
8 of 19

Okay all that's great, now what don't Upwork just solve that thing that alerts for just alerting ? That's the real bad thing not the ways we're solving by.


Marvelous.
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
9 of 19

Noureldin Y wrote:

Okay all that's great, now what don't Upwork just solve that thing that alerts for just alerting ? That's the real bad thing not the ways we're solving by.


Simply telling the client:

 

Hi Frodo, in case you see some alert about the file, you can simply download the original by clicking on the "download the original file" link or let me know if you'd like me to send you the file some other way of your choice.

 

download original file.jpg

 

Include the screenshot. Done.


None of this is new. The sanitizing has been going on for months / years. They only just started showing the alert. Nothing else has changed.

Community Guru
Wendy C Member Since: Aug 24, 2015
10 of 19

Irene, from what I understand, sanitizing files deletes all editing.  I've always used client emails as it is faster and then back it up w/ copying all relevent materials to the workroom. Copying info to wokroom is crucial as you know so ... along with email, Slack, and DropBox, feel free to use this verbaige that I sent to a client.

 

U has mucked w/ files - sanitized them - which deletes edits so you will have to:

1. Hover over file name in green
2. To the right side facing screen, you'll see a green downward arrow.
3. Click on option to DOWNLOAD ORIGINAL FILE.

TOP SOLUTION AUTHORS
TOP KUDOED MEMBERS