🐈
» Forums » Coffee Break » Rough and miser client
Page options
rahulsharma108
Community Member

Rough and miser client

Hi folks, I hope all are doing well. I want to have one suggestion from my community. Though Upwork has always helped me to gain high-quality clients. By high quality, I not only mean high paying clients but clients who speak neutral (concerns of both sides). So this particular talk is about one of the clients who hired me in February.

She was nice and calm in beginning and It was going well with her. Our words and way of work were resonating well. Being a social media manager, I work on a variety of tasks, from website management to ad management, and I was doing the same for her.  By the time it was March, we had some back and forth in some tasks. Where I asked her to clear my doubts about that task. I asked her many times in form of short and long messages. She was talking about things of the whole world but did not clear that doubt. She thought it is unnecessary to clear that thing because it was something believed to be simple 'common sense' for her.

So I did that thing as a result of some internet research. After few days she bashed loudly at me, about why I did it that way and the irony is she said 'why you did not ask me.?' She was giving me a variety of tasks at $10/hour, but at a  work limit of 5-6 hours/week. It was difficult to complete those things in such a short time. Whenever I was taking bit longer time to do something, she always took just 1 second to further lower my weekly limit. As an indirect expression of 'anger' and a hint to not take more time or maybe 'turn off meter sometimes'.

Being an agency owner, she has many employees and I expected things to be broad and easy within good work limits. But she was too miser. She paused my contract and did not message me for almost a month. She again jumped into my DM and asked me to again do a simple task. I agreed and the contract restarted.