cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The Happy / Sad Post

Community Guru
John B Member Since: Feb 20, 2009
1 of 11

Sometimes when I am not so happy I try and think of people who are worse off than me.

Like the guy I see in the wheelchair sometimes or the blind guy with guide dog I sometimes see near the supermarket. 

Working as a freelancer I am kind of socially isolated, I don't get to interact with a lot of people except online and I kind of miss those office chats about nothing and the team comaradiere.

Recently I had to take on extra work with a local client, I've found I am a lot more stressed and having trouble sleeping properly because of that job. 

So I am asking you, my fellow freelancers, what do you do to stay happy and healthy?

Community Guru
Aseem B Member Since: Dec 20, 2014
2 of 11

People often paint freelancers as funky hipsters travelling the world, working from beaches or from a table at a coffee shop while sipping ice teas. However most of us know that reality is somewhat different. Working 5-7 hrs a day with odesk time tracker on is much more hectic than working 10 hrs in an office. The chairs become uncomfortable every day. Sleep cycles are ruined. Soon it becomes hard to keep a routine in life. Even if we have free time, we are spending it applying to jobs.

After working/bidding 2 years almost non stop as a freelancer, I gained weight and lost touch with many co-workers. I also felt that I was not able to learn the skills that I wanted to learn as I was constantly working on what I have experience in. However I was able to make savings that were substantial according to my expenses(which were cut down again due to lack of much social activities).

I will tell you what I did and what were the consequences.