Re: The rate debate

Community Guru
Daniel C Member Since: Nov 21, 2010
51 of 73

-

Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
52 of 73

You're one of my favorites here, Daniel. You're going to do just fine! I think you got the right idea -- take classes that interest you. I loved some of my classes especially biochemistry and the bio classes that specialized like immunology, virology and genetics. Had a crush on my genetics professor. lol Unfortunately, most of my professors complained about being broke and money makes me happy and I wasn't about to be broke for a profession.

I graduated with a Bachelors in Biological Sciences. I was 2 labs from getting one in Chemistry too because I took a bunch of chem classes that I didn't need but wanted to take. Decided to just graduate though. It was a good decision because I would have had to take them one per semester, so a whole year. I was working with Demand Media at the time, and 6 months after I graduated, they died and got rid of a ton of writers, me included. I jumped back into the workforce to get it together before going back into freelancing again.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Kathryn B Member Since: Jul 22, 2015
53 of 73

Jennifer,

I have to say thank you for this.  You just gave me that little shove I needed to look into classes.  While they may not be writing related classes, I had considered going back to school for a while and kept giving myself that "you're too darn old for that" down-talk that tends to go through people's heads.  We're relocating in about two months, but I'm sitting here researching classes at the community college located in the same town we're relocating to because of your post.  Kudos for tripping the trigger of a very stubborn old farm kid.

~I am only here when I can tolerate having my eyes blasted, my privacy treated like a joke, and my temper pushed to it's limit. For all other times, please request alternate contact methods~
Community Guru
54 of 73