cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: What are things that people get wrong about your line of work?

Community Leader
Nahid H Member Since: Apr 9, 2011
1 of 31

I know there are lot of funny experience on this topics. I just want to know your story.

Community Leader
Zoha U Member Since: Feb 8, 2017
2 of 31

Well, being a graphic designer, I frequently come across clients who ask for Microsoft Word files! There's nothing wrong in that, however, we don't design stuff on "MS WORD". Smiley Very Happy

On my initial days on Upwork, I was even rated bad because the client didn't have the software to open the raw files that they have asked for; which really infuriated me back then. They showed me a blank chrome screen with a message "The file has an error" lol. 

Secondly, some of my relatives think I design Billboards. Period. Nothing else. Smiley LOL

Many a times I need to count them the things a graphic designer generally can design, which undoubtedly is fun to do! 

Nevertheless, it's great to be doing what I do! 

Community Guru
Melissa T Member Since: Dec 5, 2014
3 of 31

@Zoha U wrote:

Well, being a graphic designer, I frequently come across clients who ask for Microsoft Word files! There's nothing wrong in that, however, we don't design stuff on "MS WORD". Smiley Very Happy

On my initial days on Upwork, I was even rated bad because the client didn't have the software to open the raw files that they have asked for; which really infuriated me back then. They showed me a blank chrome screen with a message "The file has an error" lol. 

Secondly, some of my relatives think I design Billboards. Period. Nothing else. Smiley LOL

Many a times I need to count them the things a graphic designer generally can design, which undoubtedly is fun to do! 

Nevertheless, it's great to be doing what I do!