Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Working online in foreign countries

Community Guru
Ravindra B Member Since: Sep 27, 2015
13 of 51

@Wendy C wrote:

Basic rules do apply as per the article Wassim shared and the comments of some others in this thread. 

Excuse me?

"Certa bonum certamen"
Highlighted
Community Guru
Wendy C Member Since: Aug 24, 2015
13 of 51

And it's too late for me to edit my faux pas.  I'm so sorry, Ravindra. Red-faced me ...

Joao S Member Since: Jul 16, 2019
13 of 51

Hello Wendy C, I do believe we should be able to be digital nomads. But I have a question, I am quite new at UpWork and I am wondering if I can work from Europe for UK clients (even though many times they say -just for UK residents at they publications)? I do not want to trick them of course I want to be honest about my location but I am afraid that will short the number of jobs I will get, because of my location... Can you advise me what to do please?

Community Guru
Nichola L Member Since: Mar 13, 2015
14 of 51

Joao,

For the moment, you are free to work anywhere in the EU, but you do have to declare your earnings to your resident country. This of course, is pre-Brexit, so you had better consult the tax authorities of how you stand if you are resident in UK 

Portugal has particularly harsh taxation for freelancers, so you really need to get your resident/tax status sorted if you are planning to work from  anywhere other than the UK.

Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
15 of 51

@Wassim T wrote:

Margarete, this story is a bit extreme (not saying it's not true). Under similar circumstances, almost nobody will be allowed to enter to the states then.

It is not extreme.