Inside View: Freelancer Tips Learned by Hiring Others

lineaart

I have been a freelancer for a long time, but recently decided to make a career breakthrough and started freelancelifemagazine.com, a freelance news website. And even before I started this project, I knew that I would need the help of other freelancers - programmers, bloggers, social network managers ... Of course, I decided to find these freelancers here at Upwork.

So I decided what I needed, set a budget, wrote a job post, and waited to see the offers. The number of offers was even higher than I expected, which made my choice a little more difficult. So I had to go through the elimination process and choose the freelancer who best suited my needs. At the end of the process, I hired several freelancers who did a good job. Then I created a new Job Post, hired new freelancers for a new job, and repeated the process several times.

Apart from the completed jobs, the biggest benefit for me from all these processes was that I better understood what the process of hiring a freelancer looks like and how clients think. That helped me look at my offers as a freelance designer from a different angle. But here’s what the whole process looked like for me.

1. Profile photo

The first step in choosing a freelancer was to reject offers that have an inadequate profile photo. It may seem unprofessional to make decisions based on pictures alone, but when an employer gets 40-50 offers he can’t read every offer. So, the offers to some were vague pictures, a drawing instead of a photo or a weird facial expression were the first to fall away.

My advice to freelancers: choose your profile photo carefully, even if you have a good offer, you may drop out just because of a bad photo. Upwork has instructions for choosing a good profile photo, read it.

2. Price range