🐈
» Community » Community Blog » My Journey from Civil Engineering to Graphic ...
Page options
Apr 05, 2023
My Journey from Civil Engineering to Graphic Design: Finding My True Passion
In the beginning

As a civil engineering graduate, I thought I had my life all figured out. Growing up, I always had a fascination with art and design. I loved everything about it - the colors, the textures, and the endless possibilities of creativity, but I believed that pursuing a degree in engineering was the responsible and practical thing to do. Little did I know that the journey ahead would be filled with struggle and hardships.

During my six years in college, I faced numerous challenges. The first two years were already difficult for me. I struggled to keep up with my studies, and I felt like I didn't belong. However, I found solace in my friends who supported me and encouraged me to keep going.

Over time, I started to enjoy my college life more, and the last four years were rough but fulfilling. I was able to find a balance between my studies and my passion for graphic design. I would often work on my designs late at night after studying for exams or working on projects. Despite the lack of sleep, I found joy in creating something beautiful.

When the pandemic hit and my graduation was put on hold, I felt uncertain about my future. However, a job offer as an engineering practitioner provided some stability. I graduated from college. I took the job, thinking it would be a good way to gain experience and earn a living. But it didn't take long before I realized that the job wasn't for me. I felt drained and unhappy every day, and I couldn't see myself doing it for the rest of my life.

But even while working, I continued doing freelance work as a graphic designer. I took on various projects, from designing logos to creating posters and brochures. It was then that I realized that graphic design was not just a hobby for me - it was my passion, my calling.

The journey