🐈
» Forums » Bulletin Board » Meet our Community Featured Contributor Ashra...
Page options
VladimirG
Community Manager
Community Manager

Meet our Community Featured Contributor Ashraf K.

Meet our Community Featured Contributor Ashraf K.

Asraf.jpg

• What job category do you work in?
    Financial Modeling, Excel Automation & Visualization

• When did you begin using Upwork?
    Been active since Octiber 2020!

• Tell us a little about yourself and how you got started Freelancing, or running your business online?
    Covid-19 made me think of and consider freelancing as a serious career option. And I am glad I did it! Before that, I spent about a decade in Investment Banking in the Middle East; when I returned to India, my home country, I set up a financial consultancy in India. Being a business owner, I never got the chance to take a break or vacation, which I finally did in Dec-2019. When I returned to India after the vacation in Mar-2020, everything would change because of Covid-19. A few months later, I logged into my Upwork account I created just before going on vacation. I started sending out proposals and winning jobs!

• What do you enjoy the most/least about working online, Ashraf?
    Since my consultancy days, I have been the boss of my own and many others, but that still required me to wake up early and go to the office in the morning! Working online gives me the flexibility to work late in the night and wake up when I want to!

• What was your most successful project/contract?
    I have tried a few other freelancing platforms, but hands-down, I found the quality of clients on Upwork to be the best! Most projects have been successful; I can’t recall any that stands out!

• Do you have any advice for other users on Upwork?