cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Spotlight on Featured Contributor Irene B.

Community Manager
Lena E Community Manager Member Since: Apr 7, 2015
1 of 22

Meet our November Featured Contributor Irene B!

Irene Community.jpeg

What category of jobs do you work in?

I am a writer/editor.

When did you begin working on Upwork?

I THINK it was somewhere in 2014 if I am not mistaken. Time flies when you are having fun.

Tell us a little about yourself and how you got started as a freelancer.

Freelancing was an accident. I was involved in writing subject-related material in my pre-freelancing life as part of my job while editing my peers’ work as a favor. I also wrote poetry on the side (badly). Then a businessman I happened to know asked me to edit some documents written for the international community. He was so impressed he suggested I should take editing up as a full-time occupation. I didn’t take him seriously at the time.
A little later, I met a freelancer via an online game I used to play – yes, I was a gamer! Gasp! We got to talking and she told me about oDesk. I decided to check it out. A few dollars here and there seemed a good idea at the time.
I didn’t take the platform seriously at first. Who makes money freelancing, right? But then I started reading up on things and following the forums (not participating). One day I came to the realization that I could do this!
Once that ‘AHA!’ moment hit me, I focused on what I was doing, became more discerning in what I did, and have not looked back.

What do you enjoy the most/least about freelancing?