🐈
» Groups » Designers & Creatives » Forum » Re: Billing for images, etc.
Page options
karicredits
Community Member

Billing for images, etc.

Hello,

How do I invoice my client for purchases outside of our contract. For example, I'm a designer and I had to buy 2 photos for my client's website. I told him I would invoice him.

If there si a way to invoice him through Uwprok, that means that I will be invoicing him for the cost of goods and Upwork will take their customary 10 - 20% cut on the contract, which means that I will be out that amount... doesn't make sense.

Can I invoice my client for the goods outside of Upwork or is that a violation of contract?

Thanks!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Obviously I'm not that stupid to violate the rules, hence when I am unsure about something, I check this forum and ask a question if I am still needing a clarification.

I now believe the correct way is to ask the client to add a payment for expenses - which I've read is hidden away and not obvious to find.

Ideally the client could do this easily, then the freelancer would upload a receipt for the purchase. Upwork could make spot checks where appropriate to check for fraudalent claims (as I'm sure they no doubt do with messages). However I'm fully aware that this won't happen. It is not a feature that will be anywhere near the top of what most freelancers want implimented.

We just have to make it clear that if the client wants us to purchase third party assets on their behalf then they will be paying a very high premium:

- 20% Upwork fee

- 10% Handling fee (the usual when you do this for a client)

- 5% to cover exchange rates

In my own personal experience (which is an 18 year career so far), I've encountered many clients who would rather I just do everything for them. I've charged them around 10% for this service. If the client is from Upwork, then it's going to cost them 35%. That's quite a huge difference.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
petra_r
Community Member