🐈
» Groups » Designers & Creatives » Forum » Re: Does client have rights to my sketches
Page options
nreimerdesign
Community Member

Does client have rights to my sketches

I am new to Upwork and got my first contract for a logo design last Tuesday. The initial posting was for an hourly job, but the client really liked what I had to offer and offered me the job right away. The job was switched to a fixed price with three milestones: 1) consultation, 2) concept sketches and 3) final digital files. There was never a timeline discussed.

We did the consultation that same day that I sent my proposal and the contract was accepted. The first milestone was then approved. There was even a color palette added during the consultation.

Friday I sent the color palette and initial sketches (a wordmark and 4 icon ideas), and the client immediately approved the second milestone plus gave a bonus payment for the color palette. Sunday he gets back to me with the sketch direction that he wants to take and asks for a minor switch to the color palette. Today I make the change to the color palette, but had other projects to work on so did not get to starting the digital rendering of the sketches yet, so I told them I would have the rendering by the end of the week.

About an hour ago I get an email saying that the client has asked for a refund on the final milestone and has ended the project. Nothing was ever sent to me prior to this. When I go to the messages there is now a message saying that they found a local solution to finish the project, and "Thank you for the time, sketches and palette." So I ask if there was something wrong and if it was because I said I would have the rendering by the end of the week, and they say yes.